The administration of civil justice in Ireland is broadly derived from 19th Century legislation (in particular the Judicature (Ireland) Act 1877) which has been added to or adjusted in a largely piecemeal way over the years.


In March 2017, it was announced that a Group, to be chaired by the President of the High Court, Mr. Justice Peter Kelly, would be established to review and reform the administration of civil justice in the State.


The Group is to report to the Minister for Justice and will make recommendations for changes with a view to improving access to civil justice in the State.


The aim of the Review is to examine the current administration of civil justice in the State with a view to:


Family Law matters are not included in the remit of the Group as there is already a publicly-stated intention of the Government to bring forward modernising legislation in the form of a Family Courts Bill.


The proposal is in keeping with the Programme for Government commitments, which include:


The Review Group is comprised of the following members:


President Peter Kelly High Court (Chair)
The Hon. Mr. Justice Liam McKechnie Supreme Court  
The Hon. Ms. Justice Mary Irvine Court of Appeal  
The Hon. Ms. Justice Leonie Reynolds High Court  
The Hon. Judge Francis Comerford Circuit Court  
Judge John Brennan District Court  
Mr. John Shaw Dept. of Taoiseach  
Mr. Conan McKenna Dept. of Justice & Equality  
Mr. John Burke Dept. of Public Expenditure & Reform  
Mr. Feargal O’ Dubhghaill Office of the Attorney General  
Ms. Ciara Murphy Office of the Chief State Solicitor  
Mr. Paul McGarry Bar Council of Ireland  
Mr. Stuart Gilhooly Law Society of Ireland  
Mr. Noel Rubotham Courts Service  
Ms. Nicola Kelly Dept. of Justice & Equality (Secretary)
Ms. Mary Kelly Courts Service (Secretary)